top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLuke Jones

Describe Your Dream Home

I like sheik, modern things. I’ve also always liked the look of those big A-shaped houses that have a series of smaller A-shaped balcony projections protruding off the front. Those balconies are likely to make an appearance on my future home. They will probably be for each of my kids’ rooms.

Color? No clue. I’m sure my wife will handle that with minimal input from me.

That’s about as much speculation and fantastical description for aggrandizing my personal dream home that I can muster right now.

Quite frankly, my future home can be as big as a Medieval castle or as small as a gardening shed--as long as it’s large enough to comfortably house my family within its four walls. Just in general, I’m not super attracted to the idea of planning out my future using materialistic metrics. When I think of success, it’s not what money can buy that pops into my mind. It’s not Gucci, or Mercedes, or a crystal chandelier hanging over an over-sized, carved oak-wood table. Success, for me, is defined as what I do to make enough of that money and what I get to come home to, that money will never be able to buy. (I’m going to hold out on defining what “enough” is for right now, for the sake of brevity).

Money cannot buy the affectionate embrace of my wife. Money cannot buy love that consumes, smiles that last, or happiness that persists.

My dream home is any that I can return to after a day’s work to find my children bursting through the doorway with ferocious excitement because “Daddy’s home! Daddy’s home!”

Is my arm getting twisted? Do I have to answer the prompt now?

Alright, yes. I suppose I like the idea of one of those semi-circle driveways with the big sectioned-off area for a basketball hoop so I can give my future son the work any time. Maybe a heated jacuzzi with jets so powerful they make bubbles like a mad witch’s cauldron too. No pool, though. I’ve always thought they were more work than they’re worth and swimming is way too hard.

If or when the MTV crew entered for a “Welcome to my crib” tour, they would find an open-floor layout plan with black granite countertops in the kitchen.

I love black granite, thus that’s the only detail I’m sparing.

My home office would have a standing desk, of course, to alleviate any and all lower back pressure that builds up from my shamefully poor posture. Also, there would be loads of books on the shelves within my humble office abode, from which I could pluck out my daily reading selection each morning.

My kids’ rooms would be a direct simulacrum of their interests, yet lacking in any superfluous adornment because I’ll need to keep them humbled--not spoiled.

Ultimately, my dream home is one that supports my family. None of those materialistic facets may ever come to fruition, but I will still be in my dream home—just as long as I have happy children, a happy wife, and a happy life.


177 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Art of Conversation: Talking To vs. Talking At

Human conversation is an artform. It relies on a synchronous engagement between two individuals who often integrate their perspectives and make an attempt to to interpret and empathize with the viewpo

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page