top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLuke Jones

The Magic Vault That We All Have

In my first encounter with most things, I tend to scrutinize them and immediately dissect out their flaws. It’s almost as if I identify their weak points as a way of throwing up a wall of protection for myself. Or maybe… it’s just that I enjoy coming to the understanding that nothing is perfect: everything is made up of a bunch of holes and imperfections. But boy do I get a kick out of extracting my own accurate interpretations that hone in on those flaws. That gives me the power to make fun out of anything I want to!

My eyes flickerflickerflicker in saccades and scream electrical voltage back up into my brain that allows me to concoct my own thoughts and interpretations that are locked, sealed away from outside view.

That’s a fun thing, isn’t it?

You have access to the same things as everyone else. There’s no privacy for “it” when it’s exposed to the whole world. But inside your own mind--man, you can think whatever you want to up there. You can spontaneously synthesize any idea or thought or form of reality that you want and no one, I mean NO ONE, has access to it besides you. That is, unless you want them to. But even then, they can’t come in. You can only bring it out. Your mind is like the ultimate vault.

Except, there’s no password to get in.

You’re inside it all the time, with unrestricted access to the outside world and the ability to take anything from the outside in with you. It’s sort of a double-edged sword though. Sometimes you just wish people could know, could hear, could see what you’re knowing, seeing, and experiencing up there. Like when you can picture what a person or landscape looks like so vividly in your mind with perfect clarity-- if you were Da Vinci you could regurgitate it onto a paper down to the very finest brushstroke. Or you can hear the bones of a song in your mind. Not the words but the “MMmmMMmmmmm….MMmmmm” of it-- and if you were Taylor Swift’s band you could play it down to the last pluck of the guitar string. Exactly. Nobody freaking knows what that is besides you and, well, me because I wrote it-- but even in that case it’s still two different things.

See what I mean?

Now, I’m certainly not trying to imply that this is a revolutionary breakthrough or novel concept. Scientists, philosophers, even the average simpleton have recognized the power of perspective for years. Perspective means different people experience different things and bring different things into their own vaults from the same thing. I stuck with using “thing” in that sentence to give you a second pause to figure it out.

What I’m trying to get at here is that we all have our own vaults inside our own heads. We are the gatekeepers--but all we can do is let ourselves out. Even with just that ability, we are able to bring anything in and with a flick of our imagination transform it into anything else that we wish. Our brains are powerful places of uncontained creative solitude--spend some time by yourself up there, and you just might find out what I mean.


101 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Art of Conversation: Talking To vs. Talking At

Human conversation is an artform. It relies on a synchronous engagement between two individuals who often integrate their perspectives and make an attempt to to interpret and empathize with the viewpo

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page