top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLuke Jones

Why "The Evolv(ed)(ing) Teenager”?

Updated: May 18, 2020

So, where exactly did the name of this blog, “The Evolv(ed)(ing) Teenager” come from? Why are there two separate suffixes? Why is the (ed) placed before the (ing)?

(Spoiler, I’m 17 years old-- that’s the explanation for the second part).

Let’s tackle the evolv(ed) portion first. The reason I consider myself to be an evolved teenager is not because I’m done learning or growing. It’s not because I’ve reached the peak of my intellectual potential and have no more room to improve. It’s actually because I recognize that I will never stop improving or challenging myself, and, in fact, I will never be able to reach the point where I know even the smallest fraction of everything there is to know. I am evolved because I know that I know nothing about pretty much anything.

And, guess what?

That’s all that anyone will ever know!

There is S O much information and knowledge and wisdom out there that none of us have, or will ever gain, even a preliminary inkling of understanding about. Therefore, we only become evolved when we acknowledge and accept that it is impossible to become evolved.

However, there is a profound advantage to accepting this fact.

Because once we come to terms with how relatively pea-sized the amount of knowledge inside our brains really is, we can more fully dedicate ourselves to evolving. That is why the (ing) is the second suffix in my blog’s title. Firstly, I have evolved because I am entirely aware of the fact that I don’t know much about anything(I say this with the utmost humility as it is an intrinsic foundational aspect of the human condition).

Secondly, I am currently evolving because I am in constant pursuit of expanding my understanding and knowledge about basically everything that I can. This translates to devouring any book that I can get my hands on. I jot down notes on what I read, reflect on them some time later, and use the ideas that I discover as fuel to synthesize my own series of thoughts, understanding, and writing. Absorption, reflection, creation.

Then, repeat.

For as long as my mind is awake, aware, and edacious, I will continue to chase wisdom and understanding and information so that I can continue to improve myself and my outlook on the world. We all start with a goopy pile of molten metal that is our brains at the beginnings of our lives. I want to forge mine into the most razor-sharp, assassination-styled broadsword that I can. The insights that I cultivate and meditate on are the fruits of my intellectual pursuits-- a large majority of them will be posted here on this blog. And now, let me end with this:

I am evolved because I know that I can never be evolved and will never stop evolving.

160 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

The Art of Conversation: Talking To vs. Talking At

Human conversation is an artform. It relies on a synchronous engagement between two individuals who often integrate their perspectives and make an attempt to to interpret and empathize with the viewpo

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page